The Confessions of an Ambitious Mother


  • :
  • ,
  • .
    .

    This work, anonymously authored, tells the first-person story of an impoverished country girl’s rise into American high society. Well ahead of its time, it subverts the trope of the ‘rags-to-riches American dream’ story by placing an ambitious, calculating and unapologetic woman at its heart. And as one reviewer noted upon its release, it is “as clever as it is acid and worldly.” For fans of Jane Austen, F. Scott Fitzgerald and Elizabeth Gaskell.

    Dampstain and markings to covers. Some markings and foxing throughout. Slight cocking. Binding tight. Good Condition.

    $200.00 AUD

    1 in stock

    SKU: 0000331 Categories: ,

    Description

    Anonymous: The Confessions of an Ambitious Mother
    William Heinemann, 1905. . Binding: Hardcover. Book Condition: Good Condition. 270 + 15 advertisement pages. Dampstain and markings to covers. Some markings and foxing throughout. Slight cocking. Binding tight. This work, anonymously authored, tells the first-person story of an impoverished country girl’s rise into American high society. Well ahead of its time, it subverts the trope of the ‘rags-to-riches American dream’ story by placing an ambitious, calculating and unapologetic woman at its heart. And as one reviewer noted upon its release, it is “as clever as it is acid and worldly.” For fans of Jane Austen, F. Scott Fitzgerald and Elizabeth Gaskell. Quantity Available: 1. Shipped Weight: .4 kilos. ISBN: No ISBN. Inventory No: 0000331.
    PRICE: $AU 200.00

    Additional information

    Weight 0.4 kg
    Authors

    Publisher

    Year of Publication