The Confessions of an Ambitious Mother

Anonymous
William Heinemann, 1905
Hardcover.

Good Condition.

This work, anonymously authored, tells the first-person story of an impoverished country girl’s rise into American high society. Well ahead of its time, it subverts the trope of the ‘rags-to-riches American dream’ story by placing an ambitious, calculating and unapologetic woman at its heart. And as one reviewer noted upon its release, it is “as clever as it is acid and worldly.” For fans of Jane Austen, F. Scott Fitzgerald and Elizabeth Gaskell.

$200.00 AUD

1 in stock

SKU: 0000331 Categories: ,

Description

Anonymous: The Confessions of an Ambitious Mother
William Heinemann, 1905. . Binding: Hardcover. Book Condition: Good Condition. 270 + 15 advertisement pages. Dampstain and markings to covers. Some markings and foxing throughout. Slight cocking. Binding tight. This work, anonymously authored, tells the first-person story of an impoverished country girl’s rise into American high society. Well ahead of its time, it subverts the trope of the ‘rags-to-riches American dream’ story by placing an ambitious, calculating and unapologetic woman at its heart. And as one reviewer noted upon its release, it is “as clever as it is acid and worldly.” For fans of Jane Austen, F. Scott Fitzgerald and Elizabeth Gaskell. Quantity Available: 1. Shipped Weight: .4 kilos. ISBN: No ISBN. Inventory No: 0000331.
PRICE: $AU 200.00

Keywords: 

Additional information

Weight 0.4 kg
Authors

Publisher

Year of Publication

Binding

ISBN-10

No ISBN

Condition

Good Condition